The mission of the Grants Steering Committee for the Houston Global Health Collaborative is to fund global health service projects, research projects, and educational programs designed and executed by Houston-area students in the health professions. The purpose of the Committee, as a subsidiary of HGHC, is to empower students to develop projects and leadership roles in the advancement of global health in Houston and other Texas communities, as well as abroad.

HGHC Travel and Essay Grant 2016-17 (recipients receive up to $1000, Deadlines: Nov. 1, Feb. 2, Apr. 1)

Featured Recipient

Congratulations to Neima Briggs and his team of fellow student researchers from the National School of Tropical Diseases! His work to understand soil-transmitted helminthes in Honduras exemplifies the type of globally-important research and institutional collaboration taking place in the Texas Medical Center.

 Erika_award presentation

HGHC Grants chair, Erika Wood, presents Mr. Briggs with his award at our annual global health conference.


John Collier, Executive Director of Caring Friends, Inc., helped secure funds for our essay scholarship and travel grants. The recipients of the essay scholarship, given to graduate and medical students who incorporate the ethics of global health within a comprehensive worldview, are shown in this picture.

From left to right in the group photo: John Collier (Caring Friends Inc. Board Member), Michael Goodman (HGHC Board Member), Lindsey Heathcock, Stefanie Underwood, Megan Schlichte (Winners of “Leading the Way” Essay Contest), Neima Briggs (HGHC Grant Recipient), Erika Wood, Kathryn Kramer, Thanh Hoang (HGHC Grant Steering Committee Members)
Current Leadership:
  • Co-Chair: Hannah Brown (Baylor College of Medicine, class of 2018)
  • Co-Chair: Thanh Hoang (UT School of Public Health, class of 2018)
  • Jonathan Chen (UH College of Optometry, class of 2018)
  • Rebecca Kessinger (UH College of Pharmacy, class of 2018)
  • Paul Hausknecht (Baylor College of Medicine, class of 2017)
  • Weijie Lin (Baylor College of Medicine, class of 2019)


Contact us at

For a list of past grant recipients, please click here.