Houston: The Next Great Global Health Hub

Houston has been called “the next great global health hub”; here are a few news stories from the past few years that show why:

May 25, 2015. NYTimes. Upward Mobility for the World’s Destitute. http://opinionator.blogs.nytimes.com/2015/05/15/upward-mobility-for-the-worlds-destitute/?action=click&pgtype=Homepage&module=opinion-c-col-left-region&region=opinion-c-col-left-region&WT.nav=opinion-c-col-left-region

February 4th, 2015. Union for International Cancer Control (UICC). MD Anderson to Conduct Oncology Workshop in Zambia. http://www.worldcancerday.org/md-anderson-conduct-oncology-workshop-zambia

August, 19th, 2012. CultureMap Houston. Outreach & support: How Baylor’s innovative pediatric AIDS initiative in Africa decreases exposure, improves lives. http://houston.culturemap.com/newsdetail/08-19-12-10-01-outreach-support-how-baylors-innovative-pediatric-aids-initiative-in-africa-decreases-exposure-improves-lives/

May 28th, 2012. Chagas Disease Research Gets a Boost. http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/chagas-disease-research-gets-a-boost/

May 28th, 2012. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor Awarded $6 Million Grant to Develop SARS Vaccine.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-awarded-6-million-grant-to-develop-sars-vaccine/

May 28th, 2012. Texas Medical Center News. Sabin Vaccine Institute Joins Texas Medical Center Becomes 51st Member Institution. http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/sabin-vaccine-institute-joins-texas-medical-center-becomes-51st-member-institution/

May 16, 2012. UTHealth School of Nursing Newsroom. Nursing Ethics Expert Susan Benedict Joins UTHealth School of Nursing as Director of Global Health. https://nursing.uth.edu/news/detail.htm?id=2bcfb9d5-78e4-41c6-97ed-d074b8522e0b

November 01st, 2011. Texas Medical Center News. Tropical Medicine Clinic Opens at Ben Taub Hospital.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/tropical-medicine-clinic-opens-at-ben-taub-hospital/

August 2, 2011. UN Dispatch. “Houston, We Have a Solution.” Why The Texas City Could Be the Next Great Global Health Hub. http://www.undispatch.com/houston-we-have-a-solution-why-the-texas-city-is-the-next-great-global-health-hub

July 29, 2011. PRNewswire-USNewswire. Texas Children’s Global Health Corps Launches.http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/texas-childrens-global-health-corps-launches-126393628.html

June 15th, 2011. Texas Medical Center News. World-Renowned Researcher Brings Vaccine Development Program to Houston. http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/worldrenowned-researcher-brings-vaccine-development-program-to-houston/

April 15th, 2011. Texas Medical Center News. Children’s Global Health Center Announced.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/childrens-global-health-center-announced/

March 15th, 2011. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor Launches Center for Globalization.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-launches-center-for-globalization/

December 01st, 2008. Texas Medical Center News. Local Physicians to Staff Ethiopian Clinics.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/local-physicians-to-staff-ethiopian-clinics/

November 15th, 2008. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor Helps Launch Children’s AIDS Center in Uganda.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-helps-launch-childrens-aids-center-in-uganda/

July 15th, 2008. Texas Medical Center News. Rice Students Combat Disease Abroad.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/rice-students-combat-disease-abroad/

May 15th, 2008. Texas Medical Center News. M. D. Anderson Collaborates with German Cancer Research Center.http://tmcnews.org/articles/m-d-anderson-collaborates-with-german-cancer-research-center/

March 15th, 2008. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor Health Care Spans the Planet.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-health-care-spans-the-planet/

June 01st, 2007. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor Pediatric AIDS Initiative Opens Lab in Romania.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-pediatric-aids-initiative-opens-lab-in-romania/

December 01st, 2006. Texas Medical Center News. Baylor, UNICEF Partner to Help Children with AIDS.http://tmcnews.tendenci5production2.net/articles/baylor-unicef-partner-to-help-children-with-aids/